The four planes of development

At this stage, he also learns to care for himself, dress himself, feed himself etc. This sensitivity is towards nobility, personal dignity and a further sense of justice. Self Evaluation and Self Assurance: They relate to the human tendency to want to create a more harmonious world to live in, and as Montessori argues this is the true nature of the human being who has been allowed to develop according to his instincts.

Slowly these sounds are ordered inspiring the tongue to move in new and subtle ways. New Identity The period of adolescence ages twelve to eighteen marks the end of childhood.

Banich describes the sensitive period as one where an organism is particularly sensitive to an external stimuli during a specific developmental period. This is the art of serving the spirit, an art which can be practised to perfection only when working among children.

We have only to compare the newborn babe with the six year old to see this. Grazzini proposes this individual is one who is inspired to reach beyond the egoic path of striving for material gain, prestige and power, to instead contribute to the cosmic plan as laid out by Montessori to make the world a more harmonious place to live.

This is when our children branch out into communities with more knowledge and experience, as young adults themselves. She believed that children acquire knowledge differently than adults and therefore require a specially prepared environment that correlates directly to their needs.

The paper will first present a high level overview of the four planes. In the first half of the first plane Montessori observed the child as a spiritual embryo.

The Second Plane of Development: These impressions not only penetrate the mind of the child, they form it; they become incarnated, for the child makes his own 'mental flesh' in using the things that are in his environment.

There is no such thing as rushing through one stage to get to the next, or skipping steps. There appears to be a eery likeness between the four planes of development and some of the periods of human history.


They began to take an interest in the community and work on it. During both of these times, the enormous task of learning is made more manageable through the sensitive periods.

Random House Burns, David D. (Four Planes of Education, p. 2) "Education, therefore, of little ones is important, especially from three to six years of age, because this is the embryonic period for the formation of character and of society, (just as the period from birth to three is that for forming the mind, and the prenatal period that for forming the body.".

Created Date: Z. Four Planes of Development I. Introduction: Education as an Aid to Life. The Montessori "method" is actually a philosophy of education. That philosophy emphasizes that education should go far beyond the mere acquisition of knowledge, and instead be a practical aid to life/5(1).

These planes of development are the basis for the age groupings found in Montessori schools.

Four Planes of Development

The First Plane of Development: The Absorbent Mind A child in the First Plane (birth to age six) effortlessly absorbs knowledge, language, and culture through his or her senses. Jul 22,  · The first plane of development is from birth to six years old. It is further divided into two sub planes from birth to three, the unconscious absorbent mind, and three to six years of age, the conscious absorbent mind.

the four planes of development The life of the child that will become tomorrow’s adult is basically divided into four planes or stages. Each plane consists of a period of six years.

The four planes of development
Rated 3/5 based on 69 review
The Montessori Difference / Planes of Development